MX Sports Pro Racing

Friday, March 20, 2020 | 5:00 PM


Media Inquiries:
Brandon Short - Media Manager
[email protected]

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Announces
Amended Event Schedule for 2020 Season
In Response to COVID-19, Series Will Now Begin on June 13

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (March 20, 2020) – In response to the evolving health crisis surrounding the COVID-19 coronavirus, MX Sports Pro Racing has officially announced an amended event schedule for the 2020 season of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. Under this revised championship calendar, the 49th season of the world’s most prestigious off-road motorcycle racing series will commence on Saturday, June 13, beginning with the Florida National from Jacksonville’s WW Ranch Motocross Park.

“While the whole world is trying to cope with the ongoing global pandemic that is the COVID-19 coronavirus, we have diligently looked at the impending future of our own championship and the impact this will inevitably have on this annual summer tradition,” said Davey Coombs, President of MX Sports Pro Racing. “While the series has unfortunately already been affected by this pandemic with the cancellation of American motocross’ longest running event, the Hangtown Motocross Classic, we have developed a condensed and redesigned schedule for the remainder of the championship that will now start a little less than three months from now.  

WW Ranch Motocross Park, in Jacksonville, Florida, will now host the opening round of the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship.
WW Ranch Motocross Park, in Jacksonville, Florida, will now host the opening round of the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. Jeff Kardas

“It is our hope that in postponing the start of our season for this additional month, the extended period of time will not only allow for us to obtain a clearer picture of the state of the pandemic, but also provide ample opportunity for our series partners, teams, competitors, and fans to plan accordingly. The updated calendar would allow us to still successfully host a complete season of Lucas Oil Pro Motocross competition, in a quick and concise fashion will leave other parts of the calendar open for other racing activities.”

Under the new schedule, the 11-round series would open with seven consecutive weekends of racing, where the Florida National will be followed by the High Point National (June 20), the Southwick National (June 27), the RedBud National (July 4), the Thunder Valley National (July 11), the Spring Creek National (July 18), and the Washougal National (July 25). Following a two week break, the championship will return for its stretch run, beginning with the Unadilla National (August 15), followed by the Budds Creek National (August 22), the Ironman National (August 29), and the Fox Raceway National, which will end the season on Labor Day weekend (September 5).

New 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Schedule

June 13Florida NationalWW Ranch Motocross ParkJacksonville, Florida
June 20High Point NationalHigh Point RacewayMt. Morris, Pennsylvania
June 27Southwick NationalThe Wick 338Southwick, Massachusetts
July 4RedBud NationalRedBud MXBuchanan, Michigan
July 11Thunder Valley NationalThunder Valley MX ParkLakewood, Colorado
July 18Spring Creek NationalSpring Creek MX ParkMillville, Minnesota
July 25Washougal NationalWashougal MX ParkWashougal, Washington
Aug 15Unadilla NationalUnadilla MXNew Berlin, New York
Aug 22Budds Creek NationalBudds Creek Motocross ParkMechanicsville, Maryland
Aug 29Ironman NationalIronman RacewayCrawfordsville, Indiana
Sept 5Fox Raceway NationalFox RacewayPala, California

For information about the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, please visit and be sure to follow all of the Pro Motocross social media channels for exclusive content and additional information on the latest news:

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, features the world's fastest outdoor motocross racers, competing aboard homologated bikes from one of six competing manufacturers on a collection of the roughest, toughest tracks on the planet. The 12-round series traditionally begins in May and ends in August for a summer-long championship that includes stops at America’s premier motocross racing facilities, with events in California, Colorado, Pennsylvania, Florida, Michigan, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, Washington, New York and Indiana. Racing takes place each Saturday afternoon, with competition divided into two classes: one for 250cc machines, and one for 450cc machines. MX Sports Pro Racing, the industry leader in off-road powersports event production, manages the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. The title sponsor is Lucas Oil, a leading producer of premium oils, greases, and problem solving additives, all made in America.  More information can be found at