Specialty Awards

2017 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Specialty Awards

The Deltran Battery Tender RC Hard Charger Award
The RC Hard Charger Award is entering its eighth season in 2017. Named after Ricky Carmichael, the most winning motocross rider of all time, the award recognizes the one competitor at each of the 12 rounds of the championship who overtakes the highest number of his fellow racers in either moto of the 450 Class. 

The award returns fittingly with Deltran Battery Tender as a series partner. The award is a testament to "The Greatest of All Time" or "The GOAT" and his never-give-up attitude over the span of a career that warranted 10 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross titles and 102 wins — two feats that will likely never be duplicated. All recipients of the Deltran Battery Tender RC Hard Charger Award are given a custom-designed trophy.

2017 Deltran Battery Tender RC Hard Charger Award Recipients
Hangtown Justin Barcia
Glen Helen Eli Tomac | Brandon Scharer | Rhys Carter
Thunder Valley Blake Baggett
High Point Eli Tomac
Tennessee Blake Baggett
RedBud Blake Baggett 
Southwick John Short
Spring Creek Weston Peick
Washougal Benny Bloss 
Unadilla Phil Nicoletti
Budds Creek Heath Harrison & Henry Miller
Ironman Jeffrey Herlings & Fredrik Noren


2017 FMF Privateer Power
Hangtown Rhys Carter
Glen Helen Justin Hoeft
Thunder Valley Brandon Scharer
High Point John Short
Tennessee John Mosiman
RedBud Henry Miller
Southwick Fredrik Noren
Spring Creek Henry Miller
Washougal Justin Hoeft
Unadilla Henry Miller
Budds Creek Heath Harrison
Ironman Fredrik Noren


Edison Dye Cup and Gary Jones Cup

At the conclusion of the 2009 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, a pair of perpetual championship trophies were introduced for the 450 and 250 classes: the Edison Dye Cup and Gary Jones Cup are commemorative awards that honor the strong legacy of American motocross, in name and in spirit. Each cup goes to the team that captures the championship in each class, the Edison Dye Cup for the 450 Class and the Gary Jones Cup for the 250 Class. Each season, both cups are claimed by the riders and teams able to overcome and endure the challenges that make motocross one of the toughest sports on the planet.

Edison Dye was one of the pivotal figures in the development of professional motocross in America. As the organizer of the first professional motocross championship in the U.S., he set the standard for an elite competition pitting the best riders on the planet against one another in a quest for fame and glory. By importing such legendary figures as Torsten Hallman, Joel Robert, Roger DeCoster, and more to his Inter-Am tours beginning in 1966, Dye set the stage for what is now the most prestigious motocross series of all, the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship.

Gary Jones was a product and beneficiary of Edison Dye's series and, as a result, became the first true AMA Pro Motocross Champion in the 250 Class in 1972. Jones, who hailed from Hacienda Heights, Calif., went on to defend his title in both 1973 and 1974, becoming the first multi-time champion in AMA Motocross history. Even more impressive is the fact that Jones won those three titles on three different brands: Yamaha, Honda, and Can-Am.

2017 Eli Tomac Monster Energy Kawasaki 2017 Zach Osborne Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing
2016 Ken Roczen RCH Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John's
/Suzuki Factory Racing
2016 Cooper Webb Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha
2015 Ryan Dungey Red Bull KTM 2015 Jeremy Martin Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha
2014 Ken Roczen Red Bulll KTM 2014 Jeremy Martin Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha
2013 Ryan Villopoto Monster Energy Kawasaki 2013 Eli Tomac GEICO Honda
2012 Ryan Dungey Red Bull KTM 2012 Blake Baggett Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki
2011 Ryan Villopoto Monster Energy Kawasaki 2011 Dean Wilson Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki
2010 Ryan Dungey Rockstar/Makita Suzuki 2010 Trey Canard GEICO Honda
2009 Chad Reed Rockstar/Makita Suzuki 2009 Ryan Dungey Rockstar/Makita Suzuki