MX Sports Pro Racing

Specialty Awards

2021 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Specialty Awards

The Deltran Battery Tender RC Hard Charger Award
The RC Hard Charger Award is entering its twelfth season in 2021. Named after Ricky Carmichael, the most winning motocross rider of all time, the award recognizes the one competitor at each of the 12 rounds of the championship who overtakes the highest number of his fellow racers in either moto of the 450 Class. 

The award returns fittingly with Deltran Battery Tender as a series partner. The award is a testament to "The Greatest of All Time" or "The GOAT" and his never-give-up attitude over the span of a career that warranted 10 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross titles and 102 wins — two feats that will likely never be duplicated. All recipients of the Deltran Battery Tender RC Hard Charger Award are given a custom-designed trophy.

Edison Dye Cup and Gary Jones Cup

At the conclusion of the 2009 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, a pair of perpetual championship trophies were introduced for the 450 and 250 classes: the Edison Dye Cup and Gary Jones Cup are commemorative awards that honor the strong legacy of American motocross, in name and in spirit. Each cup goes to the team that captures the championship in each class, the Edison Dye Cup for the 450 Class and the Gary Jones Cup for the 250 Class. Each season, both cups are claimed by the riders and teams able to overcome and endure the challenges that make motocross one of the toughest sports on the planet.

Edison Dye was one of the pivotal figures in the development of professional motocross in America. As the organizer of the first professional motocross championship in the U.S., he set the standard for an elite competition pitting the best riders on the planet against one another in a quest for fame and glory. By importing such legendary figures as Torsten Hallman, Joel Robert, Roger DeCoster, and more to his Inter-Am tours beginning in 1966, Dye set the stage for what is now the most prestigious motocross series of all, the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship.

Gary Jones was a product and beneficiary of Edison Dye's series and, as a result, became the first true AMA Pro Motocross Champion in the 250 Class in 1972. Jones, who hailed from Hacienda Heights, Calif., went on to defend his title in both 1973 and 1974, becoming the first multi-time champion in AMA Motocross history. Even more impressive is the fact that Jones won those three titles on three different brands: Yamaha, Honda, and Can-Am.

2020Zach OsborneRockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing2020Dylan FerrandisMonster Energy/Star/ Yamaha Racing
2019Eli TomacMonster Energy Kawasaki2019Adam CianciaruloMonster Energy Kawasaki
2018Eli TomacMonster Energy Kawasaki2018Aaron PlessingerMonster Energy/Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha
2017Eli TomacMonster Energy Kawasaki2017Zach OsborneRockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing
2016Ken RoczenRCH Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John's
/Suzuki Factory Racing
2016Cooper WebbYamalube/Star Racing Yamaha
2015Ryan DungeyRed Bull KTM2015Jeremy MartinYamalube/Star Racing Yamaha
2014Ken RoczenRed Bulll KTM2014Jeremy MartinYamalube/Star Racing Yamaha
2013Ryan VillopotoMonster Energy Kawasaki2013Eli TomacGEICO Honda
2012Ryan DungeyRed Bull KTM2012Blake BaggettMonster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki
2011Ryan VillopotoMonster Energy Kawasaki2011Dean WilsonMonster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki
2010Ryan DungeyRockstar/Makita Suzuki2010Trey CanardGEICO Honda
2009Chad ReedRockstar/Makita Suzuki2009Ryan DungeyRockstar/Makita Suzuki