Budds Creek National

LocationBudds Creek Raceway - Mechanicsville, MD
TimeAugust 17, 2024

Est: 1989

Welcome to the 35th running of the Budds Creek National. This year's Budds Creek National will serve as round 10 of the 2024 Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing.

Track Profile

While serious business takes place a half hour away in Washington, D.C., the area around Budds Creek MX is pure relaxation. The nearby Chesapeake Bay draws travelers of all kinds, and perfect summer weather sets the Pro National date as the right time to explore the area.

But while the track itself looks like pure fun, it gets brutally serious at the top level of AMA Pro Motocross. Perhaps fitting for a track so close to the nation’s capital, Budds Creek offers classic American Motocross, with the perfect combination of hills, jumps, corners and deep, tacky soil. The racing usually stays close, as passes come down to who can brake a little harder into a turn, or scrub a little lower over a jump. It’s an all-arounder, as if some of the best components of the other ten National tracks were dropped into a valley to produce an all-around marvel. From the right spots atop the hillsides, you can see it all, as well!

Make a weekend out of this one so you can check out D.C. and the beautiful Maryland countryside, and then sit back for some of the most intense motocross action anywhere. This place is part business, part fun, and all American.


  • Open Air Festival Seating; Limited Bleacher Seating Available
  • Nearly 100% Track Viewing from a variety of vantage points
  • Covered Super Ticket VIP Viewing Area with live timing and scoring, private restrooms, and catering.
  • ADA Viewing Area & convenient parking
  • Large interactive Sponsor Village
  • Food, Drinks and Beer Concessions
  • Easy Entry/Exit
  • Onsite Camping
  • Onsite ATM

General Information

  • Gates Open Saturday at 6 am.
  • Saturday Parking: General Parking is FREE on Saturday
  • Wristbands must be worn at all times. If you leave the facility you must have it on in order to re-enter. This is your gate ticket. Do not take it off.
  • Be prepared to show credentials at all security checkpoints.
  • No Pit Vehicles on Saturday
  • General Information: located at the Main Entrance/Gate 1
  • Will Call: located across the road from Main Entrance/Gate1 (Friday 9am-5pm & Saturday 7am-2pm)
  • First Aid: located at Main Entrance/Gate 1
  • Security: headquartered at Main Entrance/Gate 1
  • Lost & Found: located at Main Entrance/Gate 1
  • No Pets on Saturday
  • Prohibited items:
    • No glass bottles in fan viewing areas
    • No drones or remote-control aircraft
    • No fireworks
    • No weapons
    • Track is not responsible for confiscated items
  • Firearms Policy: Concealed carry is prohibited. Legally permitted firearms must remain locked in a motor vehicle.
  • Do not take banners. Banners and event signage are the personal property of High Point Raceway. Removal of these items is illegal and punishable by law. You will be prosecuted for theft.
  • Stay off the track:  The racetrack if off limits to fans. Only registered racers and authorized personnel are permitted on the racetrack. No one is permitted on the racetrack at night.
  • Responsibility. Motocross racing, like all motorsports, can be dangerous. When you enter the grounds you assume the risk of injury and/or damage to your person and property. It is your responsibility to keep yourself and your children safe. Be aware of their location at all times. Never turn you back to oncoming racers. Remember, you share the facility with moving wheels and motorcycles. Be cautious of moving wheels in foot traffic areas.
  • Keep your radio tuned to MXFM 93.5 FM for up-to-date announcements, racing news, interviews and information throughout the weekend. Although we have a public address system, the best way to stay tuned is to tune in
  • Be Social with Budds Creek Pro National, like the official Facebook Page!

Local Partners

Get Connected

Facebook: Budds Creek Pro National
Twitter: @BuddsCreekMX
Instagram: @BuddsCreekMX

Contact Us

MX Sports, Inc: (304) 284-0084
[email protected] 

Budds Creek National Winners

450 Class   
8/19/23Jett LawrenceAustraliaHON
8/20/22Jason AndersonRio Rancho, NMKAW
8/21/21Dylan FerrandisFranceYAM
8/17/19Eli TomacCortez, COKAW
8/18/18Eli TomacCortez, COKAW
8/19/17Justin BogleCushing, OKSUZ
8/27/16Ken RoczenGermanySUZ
6/27/15Justin BarciaMonroe, NYYAM
7/12/14Ryan DungeyBelle Plaine, MNKTM
6/22/13Ryan DungeyBelle Plaine, MNKTM
6/16/12Ryan DungeyBelle Plaine, MNKTM
6/18/11Chad ReedAustraliaHON
6/19/10Ryan DungeyBelle Plaine, MNSUZ
8/22/09Chad ReedAustraliaSUZ
7/13/08James Stewart Haines City, FLKAW
6/17/07Ricky Carmichael Havana, FLSUZ
6/18/06Ricky Carmichael Havana, FLSUZ
6/19/05Ricky Carmichael Havana, FLSUZ
6/20/04Ricky Carmichael Havana, FLHON
6/15/03Ricky Carmichael Havana, FLHON
6/16/02Ricky Carmichael Havana, FLHON
6/17/01Ricky Carmichael Havana, FLKAW
6/18/00Ricky Carmichael Havana, FLKAW
6/20/99Kevin WindhamBaton Rouge, LAHON
6/21/98Doug Henry Oxford, CTYAM
6/15/97Ezra Lusk Bainbridge, GAYAM
6/16/96Jeremy McGrathMenifee, CAHON
6/18/95Jeremy McGrathMenifee, CAHON
5/22/94Mike LaRoccoSouth Bend, INKAW


250 Class   
Date WinnerHometown Machine
8/19/23Hunter LawrenceAustraliaHON
8/20/22RJ HampshireHudson, FLHQV
8/21/21Jeremy MartinMillville, MNYAM
8/17/19Shane McElrathCanton, NCKTM
8/18/18RJ HampshireHudson, FLHON
8/19/17Adam CianciaruloPort Orange, FLKAW
8/27/16Zach OsborneAbingdon, VAHQV
6/27/15Marvin MusquinFranceKTM
7/12/14Blake BaggettGrand Terrace, CAKAW
6/22/13Blake BaggettGrand Terrace, CAKAW
6/16/12Blake BaggettGrand Terrace, CAKAW
6/18/11Tyla RattraySouth AfricaKAW
6/19/10Dean WilsonScotlandKAW
8/22/09Jake WeimerRupert, IDKAW
7/13/08Ryan Villopoto Poulsbo, WAKAW
6/17/07Ryan Villopoto Poulsbo, WAKAW
6/18/06Ryan Villopoto Poulsbo, WAKAW
6/19/05Michael Brown Johnson City, TNHON
6/20/04James Stewart Haines City, FLKAW
6/15/03James Stewart Haines City, FLKAW
6/16/02James Stewart Haines City, FLKAW
6/17/01Michael Brown Johnson City, TNKAW
6/18/00Stephane Roncada FranceYAM
6/20/99Tallon Vohland Citrus Heights, CAHON
6/21/98Ricky Carmichael Havana, FLKAW
6/15/97Ricky Carmichael Havana, FLKAW
6/16/96Steve LamsonPollock Pines, CAHON
6/18/95Steve LamsonPollock Pines, CAHON
5/22/94Steve LamsonPollock Pines, CAHON
10/4/92Jeff EmigKansas City, KSYAM
10/6/91Guy Cooper Stillwater, OKSUZ
10/7/90Mike Kiedrowski Canyon Country, CAHON
10/8/89Mike Kiedrowski Canyon Country, CAHON


500cc Motocross  
Date WinnerHometown Machine
10/4/92Jeff StantonSherwood, MIHON
10/6/91Jean-Michel Bayle FranceHON
10/7/90Jeff Stanton Sherwood, MIHON
10/8/89Jean-Michel Bayle FranceHON