MX Sports Pro Racing

RedBud Moto 1 Recap

Saturday, July 7, 2012 | 10:00 AM

250 Moto 1


As the race begins, Marvin Musquin takes the holeshot but has Justin Barcia, Kyle Peters, Ken Roczen and Eli Tomac hot on his tail. Musquin still has the lead through lap one, but is getting pressured hard by Barcia. Barcia goes on to make the pass on Musquin in the tricky switchback off camber section.

At the ten minute mark of the moto, Blake Baggett hits LaRocco’s Leap and starts his attack on the top five. 2 minutes later, Baggett is up to second and is chasing down Barcia with a vengeance.

At the halfway mark of the race, Baggett is pressuring Barcia, as they continue to separate themselves from the top five. With 8 minutes left on the countdown clock, Baggett has pulled within .5 seconds of Barcia.

Meanwhile, Eli Tomac slides out, but doesn’t lose any position, staying in 5th.

Barcia gets taken high by a lapper, and Baggett makes the pass with two minutes plus two laps to go in the moto. Baggett starts to pull away and goes on to take the moto win, with Barcia 2nd and Roczen in 3rd.


1. Blake Baggett
2. Justin Barcia
3. Ken Roczen
4. Marvin Musquin
5. Eli Tomac
6. Wil Hahn
7. Blake Wharton
8. Kyle Peters
9. Gareth Swanepoel
10. Jason Anderson

450 Moto 1


Ryan Dungey takes the holeshot, and James Stewart rounds the corner in 2nd position, with Christian Craig and Jake Weimer running behind. Ryan Sipes, Mike Alessi, Andrew Short, Sean Borkenhagen and many others find themselves on the ground in the first corner. Dungey leads the first lap, with Stewart and Craig still rounding out the top three.

At the end of lap two, Ryan Dungey is leading and starts pulling away from the Stewart, Craig, Weimer, Justin Brayton, Broc Tickle, Nico Izzi, Tyla Rattray, Kyle Regal, Mike Brown, and the rest of the field. On the next lap, Weimer makes his way around Craig into third.

Stewart fell at the 10-minute mark and shuffled backwards a few positions.

Halfway through the moto, it's Dungey with a 30+ second lead over Weimer, Brayton, Tickle, Rattray, Stewart, Craig and Izzi. Izzi goes down and is out of the moto about 5 minutes later.

Mike Brown's bid for a top-ten finish in this moto comes to an end when his bike expires with two laps to go. He walks off the track while running 11th.

Ryan Dungey takes the moto win with a 34-second lead over Weimer and Brayton. James Stewart finishes 6th in his return.


1. Ryan Dungey
2. Jake Weimer
3. Justin Brayton
4. Tyla Rattray
5. Broc Tickle
6. James Stewart
7. Cole Thompson
8. Bobby Kiniry
9. Josh Grant
10. Michael Byrne