MX Sports Pro Racing

MX Sports Pro Racing and NBC Sports Unveil 12-Round Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Schedule for 2017

Friday, October 21, 2016 | 12:00 PM


Media Inquiries:
Brandon Short - Media Manager
[email protected] 

MX Sports Pro Racing and NBC Sports Unveil 12-Round
Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Schedule for 2017
All 12 Venues Return, with Opening Round Scheduled for May 20

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. (October 21, 2016) – Today, MX Sports Pro Racing and NBC Sports unveiled the schedule for the 2017 season of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The schedule will once again consist of 12 rounds in its summer-long journey to crown a champion, with each venue returning. The season will commence on Saturday, May 20, with the Hangtown Motocross Classic in Rancho Cordova, California, and will once again feature exclusive broadcast coverage on NBC, NBCSN, MAVTV and the NBC Sports App.

Each stop of the 12-round championship will consist of two points-paying motos in both the premier 450 Class and 250 Class, resulting in a total of 24 motos apiece that will ultimately determine a champion. Since its inception in 1972, the Pro Motocross Championship has been arguably one of the most difficult titles to win in all of motorsports thanks to its grueling nature. That defining trait has also made it the most prestigious championship in the sport, with Ken Roczen (450 Class) and Cooper Webb (250 Class) emerging triumphant in 2016.

“The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is the root of American motocross and its legacy is undeniable. Both the teams and riders understand the history of the sport and how truly difficult it is to win this coveted championship, so there’s an immense sense of pride in the battle for both the Edison Dye Cup and Gary Jones Cup,” said Davey Coombs, President of MX Sports Pro Racing. “Most of the tracks on the schedule have been hosting Nationals for more than two decades. There’s such a rich history and tradition that both the riders and the fans feed off of, making this championship a truly special experience.” 

For the fourth consecutive season the championship will kick off with back-to-back rounds in California, with the Hangtown Motocross Classic giving way to the Glen Helen National in motocross’ proverbial home of Southern California on May 27, over Memorial Day Weekend. Each track represents much of what the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship embodies, with Hangtown serving as the longest-running National on the schedule at 44 years and Glen Helen serving the role of what very well may be the most dynamic and challenging track in the world. 

Lakewood, Colorado’s Thunder Valley MX Park, just outside Denver, on June 3, will give way to the first of three off weekends before the High Point National in Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania, opens the eastern swing of the championship that sits at the heart of the schedule on June 17. This month-long stretch will include stops at Muddy Creek Raceway in Blountville, Tennessee (June 24), the unparalleled Independence Day celebration and experience from RedBud MX in Buchanan, Michigan (July 1), and the legendary sands of Southwick in Southwick, Massachusetts (July 8). 

Following another break in action, the Spring Creek National in Millville, Minnesota (July 22), and the Washougal National in Washougal, Washington (July 29), sends the championship back westward for two of most scenic stops on the schedule. These back-to-back rounds will set the stage for the stretch run to the championship, which kicks off following the final off weekend on the schedule.

Iconic Unadilla MX in New Berlin, New York, will signify the start of a three-week showdown to crown the 2017 champions on August 11, with one of the most storied events in American motocross. From there Mechanicsville, Maryland’s Budds Creek MX Park will host the penultimate round of the championship on August 19, before Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship’s new season-ending tradition from Ironman Raceway in Crawfordsville, Indiana, closes out the summer on August 26.

“The current schedule for the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship brings the fastest riders on the planet and the world’s most prestigious off-road motorcycle championship to virtually every portion of the country,” added Coombs. “We will compete in every time zone and will visit 11 states en route to finding out who will add their name to the legendary list of titleholders, forever etching themselves in the annals of American motocross history.” 

2017 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Schedule
May 20   Hangtown Motocross Classic   Prairie City SVRA   Rancho Cordova, California
May 27   Glen Helen National   Glen Helen Raceway   San Bernardino, California
June 3   Thunder Valley National   Thunder Valley MX Park   Lakewood, Colorado
June 17   High Point Naitonal   High Point Raceway   Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania
June 24   Tennessee National   Muddy Creek Raceway   Blountville, Tennessee
July 1   RedBud National   RedBud MX   Buchanan, Michigan
July 8   Southwick National   Southwick MX Park   Southwick, Massachusetts
July 22   Spring Creek National   Spring Creek MX Park   Millville, Minnesota
July 29   Washougal National   Washougal MX Park   Washougal, Washington
August 12   Unadilla National   Unadilla MX   New Berlin, New York
August 19   Budds Creek National   Budds Creek MX Park   Mechanicsville, Maryland
August 26   Ironman National   Ironman Raceway   Crawfordsville, Indiana


Tickets will be on sale for all 12 rounds on November 25 with early purchase sale prices available. For information about the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, please visit and LIKE the Pro Motocross Facebook page and follow @ProMotocross on Twitter and Instagram for exclusive content and additional information on the latest Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship news. 

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, features the world’s fastest outdoor motocross racers, racing aboard the best bikes each factory offers, on the roughest, toughest tracks in the world. The 12-rounds series begins at Hangtown in May and ends at Indiana's Ironman Raceway in August. It includes stops at the premier motocross racing facilities in America, with events in California, Colorado, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Michigan, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, Washington, New York and Indiana. The pro riders race on Saturday afternoon, with competition divided into two classes: one for 250cc machines, and one for 450cc machines. The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is managed by MX Sports Pro Racing, the industry leader in off-road power sports event production. The series is televised on NBC, NBCSN and MAVTV and streamed live on NBC Sports App.  Series partners include Lucas Oil (series title sponsor), Red Bull, GoPro, WPS, Fly Racing, GEICO Motorcycle, Kawasaki, Motorcycle Superstore, FRAM, KTM, Oakley, FMF, Deltran Battery Tender, Pirelli, Suzuki, Husqvarna, Pivot Works, Vertex, ProGrip, EBC Brakes, KMC Wheels, MotionPro, VP Racing Fuels, Acerbis and Racer X.  More information can be found at