MX Sports Pro Racing

MX Sports Pro Racing and NBC Sports Unveil Schedule for 2019 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 | 12:00 PM


Media Inquiries:
Brandon Short - Media Manager
[email protected]

MX Sports Pro Racing and NBC Sports Unveil Schedule for
2019 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship
Florida’s WW Ranch Motocross Park Joins World’s Most Prestigious Championship 

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. (October 3, 2018) – MX Sports Pro Racing and NBC Sports have announced the 12-round schedule for the 2019 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The 48th season of the world’s most prestigious off-road motorcycle racing series is highlighted by the addition of a new venue, WW Ranch Motocross Park in Jacksonville, Florida, which will host the inaugural Florida National on June 22.

A total of 24 motos will provide plenty of drama and excitement in the 450 Class and 250 Class, where the world’s most prominent and up-and-coming stars will push their physical and mental limits in an all-out battle to win the most coveted title in motocross.  The action will kick off as it has for 12 of the past 15 seasons, with the Hangtown Motocross Classic on May 18, before traveling across the country and to every corner of the U.S. on a championship journey that will visit 11 states. 

After emerging on the global motocross scene as the host venue of the final round of the 2017 FIM MXGP season, WW Ranch Motocross Park will bring the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship back to the state of Florida for the first time since the 1997 season. The Florida National will serve as the fifth round of the season.

“The southeast has long been a hotbed for the sport of motocross, with a significant number of competitors calling the Sunshine State home, and we are committed to ensuring the region has a presence in the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship,” said Davey Coombs, President of MX Sports Pro Racing. “WW Ranch was a terrific venue for the USGP last year and received rave reviews from both the U.S. and European riders. It’s always been our hope to eventually make a return to Florida, and this track will surely become an immediate favorite amongst racers and fans alike.”

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship has served as the preeminent motocross competition since 1972, and over the span of five decades it has maintained its distinction as the most difficult championship to win in all of motorsports.

Reigning back-to-back 450 Class Champion Eli Tomac will look to join elite company in his quest to win the Edison Dye Cup for the third straight season, while newly crowned 250 Class Champion Aaron Plessinger will make his premier class debut, where he’ll join the likes of Marvin Musquin, Ken Roczen, Justin Barcia, and more in unseating Tomac. Plessinger’s departure from the 250 Class means that the Gary Jones Cup will be up for grabs, opening the door for the sport’s next star of the future to emerge. 

2019 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Schedule
May 18Hangtown Motocross ClassicPrairie City SVRARancho Cordova, California
June 1Thunder Valley NationalThunder Valley Motocross ParkLakewood, Colorado
June 15High Point NationalHigh Point RacewayMt. Morris, Pennsylvania
June 22Florida NationalWW Ranch Motocross ParkJacksonville, Florida
June 29Soutwick NationalThe Wick 338Southwick, Massachusetts
July 6RedBud NationalRedBud MXBuchanan, Michigan
July 20Spring Creek NationalSpring Creek MX ParkMillville, Minnesota
July 27Washougal NationalWashougal MX ParkWashougal, Washington
August 10Unadilla NationalUnadilla MXNer Berlin, New York
August 17Budds Creek NationalBudds Creek Motocross ParkMechanicsville, Maryland
August 24Ironman NationalIronman RacewayCrawfordsville, Indiana


For information about the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, please visit and be sure to follow all of the Pro Motocross social media channels for exclusive content and additional information on the latest news:

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, features the world's fastest outdoor motocross racers, racing aboard the best bikes each factory offers, on the roughest, toughest tracks in the world. The 12-rounds series begins at Hangtown in May and ends at Indiana's Ironman Raceway in August. It includes stops at the premier motocross racing facilities in America, with events in California, Colorado, Pennsylvania, Florida, Michigan, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, Washington, New York and Indiana. The pro riders race on Saturday afternoon, with competition divided into two classes: one for 250cc machines, and one for 450cc machines. The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is managed by MX Sports Pro Racing, the industry leader in off-road power sports event production. The series is televised on NBC, NBCSN and MAVTV and streamed live on NBC Sports Gold. More information can be found at