MX Sports Pro Racing

28th Annual GEICO Motorcycle Budds Creek National Returns to Mechanicsville’s Budds Creek Raceway on August 18-20

Friday, August 11, 2017 | 1:35 PM


Chelsea Taylor
(304) 284-0084
[email protected]

28th Annual GEICO Motorcycle Budds Creek National Returns to
Mechanicsville’s Budds Creek Raceway on August 18-20
2017 Pro Motocross Season Continues with Full Slate
of Entertainment and Amateur Racing

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (August 11, 2017) – The 11th round of the 2017 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, is set to take place at the GEICO Motorcycle Budds Creek National in Mechanicsville, Maryland next Thursday, August 17 through Sunday, August 20. The 28th annual event includes a full slate of special events, amateur racing and professional competition.

Amateur race registration kicks off on Thursday, August 17, from 6-8 p.m. EST. An AMA membership is required for both days of amateur racing. Both competitive amateur racing days on Friday and Sunday will consist of a two-moto format, and FLYday Friday race fees are $35 per class, with fees being $40 per class on Sunday.

Simon Cudby

The weekend begins with FLYday Friday practice with amateur racing to follow, all starting at 8:00 a.m. Specialty awards will be presented to each class winner including replica professional number plates and Fly Racing contingency. Early Entry Pit Passes to the Budds Creek National will also accompany each winner’s award, in addition to a team truck tour on Friday evening at 5 p.m.

Children 12 and under are invited to the “Pizza Party with the Pros,” at 6 p.m. at the Super Ticket VIP Tent. It will feature an autograph signing with some of the top 250 pro riders and the lovely Lucas Oil girls, complemented by free pizza and games. 

The Budds Creek Pit Bike National begins at 7:00 p.m. featuring the following classes: Bone Stoke 110, Pro Stock 110, Open 110 and Clutch Full-Size TTR 125/Honda 150 Air-Cooled.

Andrew Fredrickson

The 2017 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship headlines the action on Saturday, August 19, at Budds Creek Raceway. With both championships still undecided, the hottest race action of the summer is set to take place on the track in both the 450cc and 250cc class divisions.

Keep the radio tuned to MXFM 93.5 for up-to-date announcements, racing news, interviews and information throughout the weekend. For a full list of weekend event rules and regulations please click HERE.

The second day of amateur racing will take place Sunday, August 20, in conjunction with the Mason Dixon Riding Association Bonus Points Race. Race fees are $40 per class and follows a 2-Moto format. Please see below or click HERE for the full list of amateur race classes available on FLYday Friday, August 18, and on Sunday, August 20.

Open A Open A
Open B Open B
Open C Open C
250 All-Star A/B 250 A
250 B 250 B
250 C 250 C
125 B/C College B/C (14-24)
College B/C (14-24) Junior 25+
Junior 25+ Vet 30+
Vet 30+ Vet 30+ C
Senior 40+ Vet 35+
Masters 50+ Senior 40+
65 (7-9) Senior 40+ B/C
65 Open (7-11) Vet 45+
85 (9-13) Masters 50+
Mini Jr. (7-13) 65 (7-9)
Mini Sr. (12-15) 65 Open (7-11)
Supermini (12-16) 85 (9-13)
Schoolboy 2 (14-16) Mini Jr. (7-13)
Women (12+) Mini Sr. (12-15)
  Supermini (12-16)
  Schoolboy 1 (12-16)
  Schoolboy 2 (14-16)
  Women 12+
  Girls (9-15)


Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, features the world's fastest outdoor motocross racers, racing aboard the best bikes each factory offers, on the roughest, toughest tracks in the world. The 12-rounds series begins at Hangtown in May and ends at Indiana's Ironman Raceway in August. It includes stops at the premier motocross racing facilities in America, with events in California, Colorado, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Michigan, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, Washington, New York and Indiana. The pro riders race on Saturday afternoon, with competition divided into two classes: one for 250cc machines, and one for 450cc machines. The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is managed by MX Sports Pro Racing, the industry leader in off-road power sports event production. The series is televised on NBC, NBCSN and MAVTV and streamed live on NBC Sports Gold Series partners include Lucas Oil (series title sponsor), Red Bull, WPS, Fly Racing, GEICO Motorcycle,, Garmin, 100%, KTM, FMF, Deltran Battery Tender, Pirelli, Suzuki, Husqvarna, Pivot Works, Vertex, Alpinestars, KMC Wheels, MotionPro, VP Racing Fuels, Acerbis and Racer X.  More information can be found at